Brandes replaces Simpson as Florida Electoral College chooses Trump

by | Dec 14, 2020

As expected, Florida’s 29 electors met today in the Senate Chambers of the Florida Capitol and cast the state’s votes in the Electoral College for President Donald Trump and Vice President Mike Pence.

Madison DeSantis, the young daughter of Governor Ron DeSantis, sat on her father’s lap as the historic votes were cast.

What was not expected was for one of the electors, Florida Senate President Wilton Simpson, to not cast his vote due to testing positive for COVID-19 the night before. The Florida Secretary of State Laurel M. Lee led the remaining 28 electors in nominating and confirming State Senator Jeff Brandes, who represents District 24 in Pinellas County, as the recommended replacement for Simpson.

The other 28 electors included State Representative Randy Fine of Palm Bay; State Representative Jason Fischer of Jacksonville; Florida GOP Chairman and State Senator Joe Gruters; State Senator Kathleen Passidomo from Naples; State Representative Daniel Perez of Miami; State Senator Keith Perry of Gainesville; and incoming House Speaker Chris Sprowles of Palm Harbor.

The Republican electors were chosen to represent the will of Floridians in its Electoral College following Trump’s decisive win in Florida on Nov. 3.

A similar process played out across the country today as electors met in state capitals to vote for the presidential candidate selected by their voters in each state. Despite the national controversy swirling around the 2020 presidential election, Joe Biden is expected to win the Electoral College vote for president with 306 votes, compared to 232 for Trump.

1 Comment

  1. Terry Conrad

    I hope this is done all over the USA.

%d bloggers like this: