David Richardson announces a strong 1st quarter raising $400,000+ in bid for Congress

by | Apr 2, 2018

State Rep. David Richardson, one of the names on the long list of candidates running for the 27th Congressional District, is the first to file his campaign finance report for the first quarter of 2018. Richardson’s campaign announced it will report a total of approximately $411,021 in campaign contributions for the first three months of this year.

It marks the third quarter that the Richardson campaign has collected over $400,000 in contributions.

Richardson ends the first quarter of this year with over $1.4 million in total receipts and $1.1 million in cash on hand.

“I’m honored to have received such tremendous support from a broad spectrum of Democrats. My campaign is focused on a progressive platform of passing Medicare-for-All nationwide, prioritizing immigration reform, passing commonsense gun reforms, and impeaching President Trump,” Richardson said in a statement released Monday morning. “We progressives, in Miami and across the country, should not be afraid to stand up for these issues which will do the most good for those in the most need.”

Richardson calls his campaign “one of the most robust grassroots fundraising programs in the country.” In the past three quarters his campaign has received  31,488 online contributions from 18,168 individuals. Approximately 95% of those donors contributed $50 or less; and the average online donation has been $24.30.

Richardson is among a large field of candidates on both the Republican and Democratic sides who are seeking the seat currently held by Republican U.S. Rep. Illeana Ros-Lehtinen. Ros-Lehtinen announced last year she would not run for reelection in 2018, resulting in a rush of candidates announcing they would run for the seat.

On the Democratic side, the list of candidates includes state Sen. Jose Javier Rodriguez, Mary Barzee Flores, Donna Shalala, Matthew Haggman, Kristen Rosen Gonzalez and Ken Russell. On the Republican side, the list of candidates includes, Bruno Barreiro, Elizabeth Ketshia Adadi, Keith Robinson, Michael Ohevzion, and Mariam Peiro.






%d bloggers like this: