Florida Chamber rolls out 79 general election endorsements

by | Sep 22, 2016

After interviewing more than 200 candidates running in competitive House and Senate races, the Florida Chamber of Commerce today announced 79 candidate endorsements for the November 8th General Election.

In Florida’s primary election cycle, 76 of the 88 Florida Chamber-backed candidates were victorious, either winning outright or moving on to the general election. The Chamber says today’s announcement is part of a stepped-up political strategy of engaging early and aggressively during the 2016 election cycle.

“We believe these candidates will put Florida’s long-term future ahead of short-term fixes and will help ensure our state remains competitive,” said Marian Johnson, Senior Vice President of Political Operations for the Florida Chamber of Commerce. “We are proud to support these candidates that we believe will help create jobs and economic opportunity in our state.”

In addition to its significant digital advertising investments, television advertisements and mail-box mailers for candidates, the Florida Chamber’s 2016 Election Guide provides voters information on all races appearing on the November 8th ballot – from top of the ticket to the open U.S. Senate seat, 27 congressional races, all 40 senate and 120 house seats, as well as four proposed constitutional amendments that will appear on the ballot. The 2016 Election Guide is part of the Florida Chamber’s larger GOTV efforts.

Here is a complete list of all 79 Chamber endorsements:

Florida Senate

District 1: Representative Doug Broxson (R)

District 3: Senator Bill Montford (D) – Incumbent

District 7: Senator Travis Hutson (R)– Incumbent

District 8: Representative Keith Perry (R)

District 11: Representative Randolph Bracy (D)

District 13: Dean Asher (R)

District 12: Representative Dennis Baxley (R)

District 14: Senator Dorothy Hukill (R)– Incumbent

District 15: Peter Vivaldi (R)

District 16: Senator Jack Latvala (R)– Incumbent

District 17: Representative Debbie Mayfield (R)

District 18: Representative Dana Young (R)

District 22: Senator Kelli Stargel (R)– Incumbent

District 24: Senator Jeff Brandes (R)– Incumbent

District 25: Senator Joe Negron (R)– Incumbent

District 27: Senator Lizbeth Benacquisto (R)– Incumbent

District 28: Representative Kathleen Passidomo (R)

District 30: Representative Bobby Powell (D)

District 36: Senator Rene Garcia (R)– Incumbent

District 39: Senator Anitere Flores (R)– Incumbent

Florida House of Representatives

District 1: Representative Clay Ingram (R) – Incumbent

District 2: Frank White (R)

District 4: Mel Ponder (R)

District 5: Representative Brad Drake (R) – Incumbent

District 6: Representative Jay Trumbull (R) – Incumbent

District 10: Representative Elizabeth Porter (R) – Incumbent

District 12: Clay Yarborough (R)

District 15: Representative Jay Fant (R) – Incumbent

District 16: Jason Fischer (R)

District 18: Representative Travis Cummings (R) – Incumbent

District 19: Bobby Payne (R)

District 21: Chuck Clemons (R)

District 23: Stanley McClain, Jr. (R)

District 24: Representative Paul Renner (R) – Incumbent

District 25: Tom Leek (R)

District 27: Representative David Santiago (R) – Incumbent

District 28: Representative Jason Brodeur (R) – Incumbent

District 29: Representative Scott Plakon (R) – Incumbent

District 30: Representative Robert Cortes (R) – Incumbent

District 31: Representative Jennifer Sullivan (R) – Incumbent

District 35: Representative Blaise Ingoglia (R) – Incumbent

District 39: Representative Neil Combee (R) – Incumbent

District 40: Representative Colleen Burton (R) – Incumbent

District 41: Sam Killebrew (R)

District 42: Representative Mike La Rosa (R) – Incumbent

District 47: Representative Mike Miller (R) – Incumbent

District 50: Representative Rene Plasencia (R) – Incumbent

District 51: Representative Tom Goodson (R)– Incumbent

District 53: Randy Fine (R)

District 56: Representative Ben Albritton (R) – Incumbent

District 58: Representative Dan Raulerson (R) – Incumbent

District 59: Representative Ross Spano (R) – Incumbent

District 65: Representative Chris Sprowls (R) – Incumbent

District 66: Representative Larry Ahern (R) – Incumbent

District 67: Representative Chris Latvala (R) – Incumbent

District 68: Ben Diamond (D)

District 69: Representative Kathleen Peters (R) – Incumbent

District 70: Wengay Newton (D)

District 72: Alex Miller (R)

District 73: Joe Gruters (R)

District 74: Representative Julio Gonzalez (R) – Incumbent

District 76: Representative Ray Rodrigues (R) – Incumbent

District 79: Representative Matt Caldwell (R) – Incumbent

District 80: Byron Donalds (R)

District 82: Representative MaryLynn Magar (R) – Incumbent

District 83: Representative Gayle Harrell (R) – Incumbent

District 85: Rick Roth (R)

District 93: Representative George Moraitis (R) – Incumbent

District 103: Representative Manny Diaz (R) – Incumbent

District 106: Robert Rommel (R)

District 110: Representative Jose Oliva (R) – Incumbent

District 111: Representative Bryan Avila (R) – Incumbent

District 112: Nick Duran (D)

District 114: John Couriel (R)

District 115: Representative Michael Bileca (R) – Incumbent

District 116: Representative Jose Diaz (R) – Incumbent

District 118: David Rivera (R)

District 119: Representative Jeanette Nunez (R) – Incumbent

District 120: Representative Holly Raschein (R) – Incumbent




What is the most glaring political issue facing Floridians ahead of Legislative Session?
%d bloggers like this: