Mayor Dianne Dubberly backs Kat Cammack for CD 3

by | Jun 29, 2020

Building on a consistent and steady momentum of local and national endorsements, Republican congressional candidate Kat Cammack added Mayor Dianne Dubberly to her long list of mayoral endorsements on Monday.

“I offer my full support to Kat Cammack for Florida’s 3rd Congressional District,” Dubberly said in a press release. “I spoke with Kat recently and I am confident from our conversation that her positions will be for America, public safety, and the rights of citizens first. I am also confident that the small towns, such as the Town of LaCrosse, will be important to her along with the larger cities.  Kat represents our common-sense concerns and an ardent advocate for the safety of our citizens.”

Dubberly has been the 20-year Mayor of Lacrosse. LaCrosse, also known as the “Potato District,” is just over 15 miles north of Gainesville. The rural town is mostly made up of farmland dedicated to agriculture, including vegetables, cattle, and potatoes.

Cammack, a small business owner and former deputy chief of staff for U.S. Congressman Ted Yoho, has consistently been rolling out new endorsements since the start of her campaign. Today’s endorsement joins a list big-name backers including U.S. Senator Rand Paul and We Build the Wall founder Brian Kolfage and several mayors across the state.

“I am incredibly honored to have received this endorsement from Mayor Dianne Dubberly. She has given over 20 years to the betterment of the Town of Lacrosse,” Cammack said. “Dianne is earnestly devoted to protecting the safety of her citizens. If elected, I look forward to working for small towns and with Mayors like Dianne to ensure prosperity in Florida’s Third Congressional District.”

Cammack is one of 10 Republicans looking to replace Yoho who is retiring at the end of his current term.

Also seeking the GOP nomination are businessman Judson Sapp, Clay County Commissioner Gavin Rollins, Gainesville City Commissioner Todd Chase, former congressional aide Joe Millado, physician James St. George, businessman Ryan Chamberlin, businessman Bill Engelbrecht, businessman David Theus, and businesswoman Amy Pope Wells.

CD 3 includes Alachua, Bradford, Marion, Union, Putnam, and Clay counties and is largely made up of Republican voters. Yoho won the red district in 2016 earning 57.6% of the vote.

1 Comment

  1. Charles

    It appears everybody wants to run for Congress and retire after one term, with their special, exclusive medical and retirement benefits for life. Political office pays better than most private industry jobs today, especially when the politicians give themselves fat raises every two or three years. We need term limits instituted.

%d bloggers like this: